Nick Tandy won the 2012 Porsche Cup  Photo: ADAC GT Masters
Nick Tandy won the 2012 Porsche Cup Photo: ADAC GT Masters

ADAC GT Masters driver Tandy wins Porsche Cup

Nick Tandy named best Porsche privateer of 2012

Nick Tandy ended the season in fine style. The Winner of four ADAC GT Masters races this season secures Porsche Cup.

Nick Tandy has ended the season in fine style. The British driver, who, along with co-driver Christian Engelhart took the Porsche 911 GT3 R prepared by Geyer & Weinig EDV / Schütz Motorsport to four race wins in the ADAC GT Masters during the 2012 season, has now won the 2012 Porsche Cup that was first awarded to the most successful Porsche privateer in 1970.

Tandy beat Frenchman Raymond Narac and Italian Paolo Ruberti to the prize in the cup competition that aggregates points from various Porsche series. Nicolas Armindo, who contests the ADAC GT Masters in a Porsche 911 GT3 R prepared by FROGREEN CO2 neutral, was placed fourth.

Of the 7,510 points total notched up by Tandy in the Porsche Cup standings, 1,860 came from successes in the ADAC GT Masters. In addition to the ADAC GT Masters, the 28-year-old was also in this year's line-up for the GT Open, the American Le Mans Series and the British GT Championship. The ADAC GT Masters is one of 18 championships worldwide in which Porsche drivers can secure points towards the Porsche Cup that was established by Ferry Porsche.

Tandy is not only the delighted winner of Porsche's prestigious competition for privateers but was also awarded a Porsche 911 Carrera S as a win bonus. The British driver received the Porsche Cup on Saturday night in Weissach from Dr Wolfgang Porsche, Chairman of the Supervisory Board at Porsche AG.

Previous winners of the Porsche Cup include: DTM record-breaking champion Bernd Schneider, current BMW DTM driver Dirk Werner and Bob Wollek, who passed away in 2001 - he won the Porsche Cup no less than six times.

2020 Season