Yelmer Buurman posts best time in second qualifying session  Photo: ADAC GT Masters
Yelmer Buurman posts best time in second qualifying session Photo: ADAC GT Masters

Mercedes-AMG dominate second qualifying

DTM star Edoardo Mortara will line up in P3

First pole position in ADAC GT Masters for Yelmer Buurman. SPORT1 will broadcast the race live on Sunday at 1.00 pm.

Mercedes-AMG were the ones to beat during the second ADAC GT Masters qualifying session at the Sachsenring. No less than four GT3 sports cars from the marque with the star took the top four positions. In a session that was once again extremely close, Yelmer Buurman (30, NL, Mercedes-AMG Team ZAKSPEED) was a mere 0.035 seconds faster than fellow Mercedes-AMG driver Maximilian Götz (31, DEU, Mercedes-AMG Team HTP Motorsport), taking his maiden pole position in the Super Sports Car League. DTM driver Edoardo Mortara (30, I, BWT Mücke Motorsport) finished third on his debut in the ADAC GT Masters. SPORT1 will broadcast the twelfth race of the season live and in full at 1.00 pm. It can also be watched online as live stream at, and

Contesting his first race weekend for Team Zakspeed team, Buurman set a new ADAC GT Masters qualifying record at the Sachsenring with a time of 1.17.333 minutes. "I never expected that," said the Dutchman. "I didn't think I would be among the Top Three, but the car was fantastic. It was quite difficult at first, as the tarmac was very cold. It took a fair bit of time before the tyres were up to temperature. I was only a fraction faster, but first place is first place when all said and done. We should be in with a chance of winning if everything goes well in the race."

Maximilian Götz in another Mercedes-AMG had to be satisfied with second place on the grid despite posting two sector best times. He was followed home by DTM driver Edoardo Mortara, who took third place in his first qualifying session in the ADAC GT Masters. Luca Ludwig (28, DEU, Mercedes-AMG Team ZAKSPEED) completed the lock-out by the four Mercedes-AMGs at the head of the classification.

Audi driver Christopher Haase (29, DEU, Montaplast by Land Motorsport) took P5 from Marco Mapelli (30, I, Team HB Racing) in the fastest Lamborghini Huracán. Less than one second covered the top 15 qualifiers over the 3.645-km roller-coaster of a circuit.

Tickets for race weekends are available online at

2020 Season